Translated to English from the original German by Werner Wallner

BERLINER
No. 35 1857
Allgemeine Gartenzeitung.
(General Garden Newspaper)
Edited by
Professor Dr. Karl Koch,
General secretary of the association for improvement of horticulture in the countries of the Prussian Kingdom

Content: The Bouché Nymphaea Hybrids at Borsig Garden in Moabit near Berlin. By Professor Dr. Karl Koch. -- The potato from Algiers. By Superior Gardner Reuter in the national nursery garden near potsdam. -- 357. and 358. Meeting of the association for improvement of horticulture 26. July to 30. August. -- Book review: The ferns of Great Britain and Ireland by Thomas Moore. -- The latest plants by Linden. -- Sale of plants and conservatories in Paris


Image from Flore des serres et des jardins de l’Europe
Gand, L. van Houtte, 1854-1855
Meemelink

The Bouché Nymphaea Hybrids
at Borsig Garden in Moabit near Berlin.

By Professor Dr. Karl Koch.

Those lovers of plants and flower lovers who come now to Berlin should not miss visiting the Borsig Garden at Moabit. Even though it has at every time of the year its special beauty and is really distinguished from other gardens of this kind, it provides now and in the remaining time till autumn a special delight, that we won't find elsewhere on the continent or in England and Scotland. Certainly there will be few owners of gardens that have the means to create a garden like this one.

For there are basins of delightful shape in the center of the garden (which itself is situated close to the Spree River on one side) that receive their water from the iron factories nearby. The same water, which man made himself servable there, in order to give to the hard iron arbitrary forms, serves here now to give lovely flowers a home. Since it comes directly from the steam boilers and has to run just a short way, it still has a temperature 40 - 50 degrees Remure when it arrives at the basins mentioned before. The owner has put gold fish into the water, that are in perfect condition and prefer to stay in the middle of the basins where the water flows in. There are also several Nymphaeas in the basins, mainly hybrids that were received from crossings of Nymphaea rubra and N. lotus by the Inspector of the Botanic Garden, Karl Bouchè.

I advise everyone who wants to enjoy this rare delight (which he won't find at any other place as mentioned before) to travel early to Moabit, so that he will be there around 10 a.m. If you arrive later, the flowers will close one by one until around noon they will have all hidden their splendid interior to the view of the visitor. Though if you did choose the right time, you probably won't be able to imagine anything more beautiful and splendid than those hundreds of flowers in all shades from pure white to the most beautiful red and violet, surrounded by leaves in joyful green and pleasantly shaped. One might get the impression as not to be any longer in the harsh North, but of being taken to the home of the Lotuses at the banks of River Nile and River Ganges. But even there a visitor can't be provided with the sights he gets to see here, for nobody there has taken the pain to create by human art new colours in those flowers. It would also be impossible, for the white water lilies of River Nile are too far away from the red ones of River Ganges to enable hybridization without relocating one of the species to the other one.

Even more special is the appearance of the Nymphaeas kept outside when you arrive at the Borsig Garden in late autumn or even at the beginning of winter and suddenly spot the beautiful southern flowers in rare bloom, while the cold season - at times even frost - has deprived even hardy plants of their leaves. The warm water of the basins keeps the temperature of the air above the surface to a degree that the Nymphaeas can exist well. Since it is doubtable to the moment if the Nymphaea hybrids will survive outside, the tubers of them are taken out of the pond mud in late autumn, are planted in shallow pots and placed in a warm house of 10 - 12 degrees Remure and just given so much water that the loamy soil doesn't dry out. If they are kept in water, they won't go dormant, develop new leaves and become weaker and weaker.

By the end of February the tubers are planted in fresh soil, consisting of 2 parts loam, 1 part heather soil and 1 part sand, placed in a warm basin and by the middle of May they are transferred to the outside or put in a pond in a suitable pot.

Also if there were successful crosses of the white N. lotus of the Nile and the red N. rubra of the Ganges (mainly in England and Belgium, where the presently Superior Gardener Ortgies of the Botanic Garden at Zürich gained fame for the development of Nymphaea hybrids), there were nowhere else such extended and perfect crossings than the ones by Inspector Bouché of the Royal Botanic Garden in the years 1852 and 1853. All lovers of flowers, mainly those who have the means to build special houses to keep aquatics in, will be especially thankful to him, but not less thankful will be those who will be able to see the hybrids in other gardens. One may only wish that Inspector Bouché, since he already has experience in the cultivation, will extend his experiments further. We posses also blue Nymphaes that - fertilized with pollen of the red and white one or the other way round - will cause interesting new hybrids, not only in the colour but also in the shape of the flower it self. I want to mention especially Nymphaea gigantea from Newholland, since it blooms during the day, while the other ones have their flowers closed. Wouldn't it be possible to make a cross of Victoria regia with the later one?

The total number of Hybrids raised by Inspector Bouché is 16. Seven of them are the result of a pollination of N. rubra with pollen of N. lotus, while the rest are pollinations of these hybrids with pollen of N. lotus. Most of them were named after persons that are related in some respect with the Botanic Garden or persons that are involved in the culture of aquatics.

I. Pure Hybrids

1. Gustav Fintelmann (Gardener of the Royal Court on the Peacock-Island at Potsdam) It possesses the darkest colour and hardly can be distinguished from the pod parent, although the filaments are of brown colour.
2. Dr. Klotzsch (Custodian of the Royal Herbary) The colour of the petals is a light purple, the filaments are redish brown.
3. Dr. Caspary (before instructor in Berlin, now in Bonn) The colour of the petals appears somewhat darker than the previous hybrid, the filaments are also reddish brown.
4. Professor Dr. K. Koch (Adjutant of the director of the Botanic Garden) The colour of the flower is between # 1 and # 3, but resembles more to the first one and therefore has brown filaments.
5. Nymphaea boucheana. It is of very pale pink, the inner petals are entirely white, the filaments are yellow. The hybrid was shown on plate 1033 in volume 10 of Flore des Serres
6. Theodor Jannoch (Gardener at the Botanic Garden, who has supervision of the aquatics) A splendid and huge flower with the colour of a rose, resembles somewhat N. Ortgesiana rubra as shown in Flore des Serres by van Houtte in volume VIII plate 775 (which itself is identical with N. Devoniensis)
7. Adele. The flower is of a pure purple, the filaments are orange.

II. Double Hybrids

8. Königin Elisabeth. Very big and beautiful flowers with rose coloured petals and yellow filaments.
9. Generaldirektor Lenné (director of the Royal Gardens at Sanssouci) resembles # 5 and possesses also petals of delicate pink that turns white to the centre. The filaments are again yellow.
10. Professor Dr. Braun (director of the Botanic Garden) The flower has very broad petals of a pale red colour, with a white stripe in the middle. The filaments are yellow.
11. Van Houtte (Chief and owner of a big nursery in Gent) The flower is pink, but with a bluish flush. The filaments are brown.
12. Geheimer Kommerzienrath Borsig (Founder of the biggest iron producing factory of Germany in Berlin) The petals are of a light rose colour.
13. Th. Nietner (Gardener of the Royal Court at Schönhausen near Berlin) The colour of the petals is purple, but with a bluish flush. The filaments are orange.
14. Wendland (Inspector of the Gardens of the Court at Herrenhausen near Hannover) Resembles # 6, but the colour is more of a light purple. The filaments are ochre.
15. L. Mathieu (Commercial nurseryman in Berlin) The petals are rose coloured, but have a brownish flush. The filaments are orange.
16. Friedericke. Resembles the previous hybrid, but is somewhat darker in colour. The filaments are ochre.

Die Bouché'schen Nymphäen-Blendlinge
The original German

 Water Gardening's History Index

 Index to Historical Articles 

 Antique Illustrations Index

 Biographies Index

The History of Hybrid Waterlilies

Waterlilies | Lotus | Aquatic Plants | Victoria | Our Adventure With Victoria
Water Gardening | Water Gardening Friends | New This Month
Kit & Ben Knotts | Our Garden | Search The Site | Home 
Email Discussion List | Site Map

English translation by Werner Wallner
Article Courtesy of the SNHF Library

BERLINER
No. 35 1857
Allgemeine Gartenzeitung.
Herausgegeben
vom
Professor Dr. Karl Koch,
General-Sekretair des Vereins zur Befördertung des Gartenbaues In den Königl. Preussischen Staaten.

Inbalt: Die Bouché'schen Nymphäen-Blendlinge im Borsig'schen Garten zu Moabit bei Berlin. Vom Professor Dr. Karl Koch. -- Die Kartoffel aus Algier. Vom Obergärtner Reuter in der Landesbaumschule bei Potsdam. -- 357. und 358. Versammlung des Vereines zur Beförderung des Gartenbaues am 26. Juli und am 30. August. -- Bücherschau: The ferns of Great-Britain and Ireland by Thomas Moore. -- Die neuesten Linden'schen Pflanzen. -- Verkauf von Pflanzen und Gewächshäusern in Paris.


Image from Flore des serres et des jardins de l’Europe
Gand, L. van Houtte, 1854-1855
Meemelink

Die Bouché'schen Nymphäen-Blendlinge
im Borsig'schen Garten zu Moabit bei Berlin.

Von dem Professor Dr. Karl Koch.

Wer jetzt von Pflanzen - und Blumenliebhabern nach Berlin kommt, versäume ja nicht den Borsig'schen Garten zu Moabit zu besuchen. Wenn derselbe auch zu jeder Zeit seine besonderen Schönheiten, besitzt und in der That in seiner Art ausgezeichnet ist, so bietet er doch jetzt und noch tief bis in den Herbst hinein einen Genuss dar, wie wir vergebens wohl, nicht allein auf dem Festlande, sondern auch in England und Schottland, ihn suchen. Freilich möchten auch nur wenigen Gartenbesitzern die Mittel in jeglicher Hinsicht so zu Gebote stehen, als es hier der Fall ist.

Es befinden sich nämlich inmitten des Gartens, der auf der einen Seite dicht an die Spree gränzt, Wasserbassins in angenehmen Konturen sich abschliessend, und erhalten ihren Inhalt aus den Eisen-Fabriken, die ganz in der Nähe liegen. Dasselbe Wasser, was der Mensch sich dort dienstbar gemacht hat, um dem harten Eisen beliebige Formen zu geben, dient hier nun lieblichen Blumen zum Aufenthalte. Da es direkt aus den Dampfkesseln ausströmt und nur einen kurzen Weg zu durchlaufen hat, so besitzt es, sobald es in den besagten Behältern angekommen ist, immer noch eine Wärme von 40 and 50 Grad R. Der Besitzer hat Goldfische in das Wasser gethan, die sich sehr wohl befinden und sich am Liebsten an den Stellen in der Mitte aufhalten. wo das Wasser emporsprudelt, also noch am Wärmsten ist. Ausserdem aber befinden sich allerhand Nymphäen darin, auch unsere einheimischen, vor Allem aber die Blendlinge, welche der Inspektor des botanischen Gartens, Karl Bouché, hauptsächlich aus Nymphaea rubra und Lotus, erzogen hat.

Ich rathe Jedermann, der sich den seltenen Genuss machen will, etwas zu sehen, was ihm, wie gesagt, sonst nirgends geboten wird, schon früh die Wanderung nach Moabit anzutreten, so dass er bis gegen 10 Uhr sich an Ort und Stelle befindet. Kommt man später, so schliesst sich eine Blume nach der andern, bis diese sämmtlich gegen Mittag herum ihr prachtvolles Innere den Blicken der Schauenden entzogen haben. Hat man aber die angegebene Zeit gewählt, so kann man in der That sich nichts Schöneres und Prachtvolleres denken, als diese Hunderte von Blumen in allen Nuancirungen vom reinsten Weiss bis in das schönste Roth und Violett und umgeben von den freudig grünen und wohlgefällig geformten Blättern. Man wähnt gar nicht mehr in dem rauhen Norden zu sein und fühlt sich versetzt in die Heimath der Lotuspflanzen hin nach den Gestaden des Nil's und des Ganges. Aber selbst dort kann dem Beschauer nicht das dargeboten werden, was er hier zu sehen Gelegenheit besitzt. denn Niemand hat sich die Mühe gegeben, durch Kunst neue und andere Farben in den Blumen hervorzurufen. Es würde aber auch nicht gehen, denn die weissen Wasserrosen des Nils sind zu entfernt von den rothen des Ganges, um eine gegenseitige Befruchtung ohne vorherige Uebersiedelung der einen zu der andern zu ermöglichen.
Noch eigenthümlicher ist die Erscheinung der im Freien blühenden Nymphäen, wenn man im Spätherbste und selbst noch im Anfange des Winters in den Borsig'schen Garten kommt und nun auf einmal noch schöne südländische Blumen in seltener Flor erschaut, während die kalte Jahreszeit, oft schon der Frost, selbst einheimischen Pflanzen das Laub entrissen hat. Das warme Wasser der Behälter erhält fortwährend auch die Temperatur der Luft unmittelbar über demselben stets bis zu einem Grade, dass die Nymphäen gut existiren können.

Da es bis jetzt zweifelhaft ist, ob die Nymphäen Blendlinge im Freien ausdauern, so werden die Knollen derselben im Spätherbste aus dem Schlamme des Teiches herausgenommen, in flache Töpfe gepflanzt, in ein warmes Haus von 10 bis 12 Grad Wärme gestellt und nur soviel begossen, dass die sehr lehmhaltige Erde nicht austrocknet. Lässt man sie unter Wasser stehen, so tritt keine Ruhezeit ein; sie treiben allmählig Blätter und entkraften sich.

Ende Februar werden die Knollen in frischer Erde, die aus 2 Theil Lehm, 1 Theil Haideerde und 1 Theil Sand besteht, verpflanzt, in einem warmen Wasserbassin angetrieben und Mitte Mai ins Freie ausgepflanzt oder mit angemessen grossen Gefässen in den Teich eingesenkt.

Wenn auch schon anderwärts, so namentlich in England und in Belgien, in welchem letzteren Lande namentlich der jetzige Obergärtner Ortgies im botanischen Garten zu Zürich, zur Zeit seines Aufenthaltes in der Gärtnerei von van Houtte zu Gent sich Verdienste um die Zucht von Nymphäen-Blendlingen erworben hat, gelungene Versuche mit Kreuzungen zwischen der weissblühenden Nymphaea Lotus des Nils und der rothblühenden N. rubra des Ganges gemacht sind, so doch nirgends in dieser Ausdehnung und Vollkommenheit, wie sie in den Jahren 1852 und 1853 durch den Inspektor Bouché in dem Königlichen botanischen Garten ausgeführt wurden. Alle Blumenliebhaber, namentlich diejenigen, welche die Mittel haben, um sich besondere Häuser zur Aufnahme der Wasserpflanzen erbauen zu können, werden deshalb ihm besonders dankbar sein, aber gewiss auch nicht weniger die, die die Blendlinge in andern Gärten erschauen. Man möchte nur wünschen, dass der Inspektor Bouché, der sich einmal Erfahrungen in ihrer Heranziehung gesammelt hat, die Versuche noch weiter fortsetzen wollte. Wir besitzen auch blaublühende Nympäen, die mit den Blumenstaub der roth- und weissblühenden oder umgekehrt diese mit dem Blumenstaube der ersteren befruchtet, gewiss auch, nicht allein in der Farbe, sondern auch in der Form der Blume selbst, interessante Blendlinge hervorrufen würden. Ganz besonders möchte ich auf die neuholländische Nymphaea gigantea aufmerksam machen, zumal diese grade am Tage blüht, wo jene ihre Blumen geschlossen haben. Sollte nicht auch einmal eine Kreuzung der Victoria regia mit der letzteren möglich sein?

Die Zahl der von dem Inspektor Bouché überhaupt gezogenen Blendlinge beträgt 16. Davon sind 7 dadurch erhalten, dass die Blüthen der Nymphaea rubra mit dem Blumenstaube der N. Lotus befruchtet wurden, während die übrigen durch Befruchtung der Blüthen der dadurch entstaudenen Blendlinge wiederum mit dem Blumenstaube der Nymphaea Lotus gezüchtet worden sind. Sie haben meist nach Personen Namen erhalten, die in irgend einem Verhältnisse zu dem botanischen Garten stehen, oder sich mit der Kultur der Wasserpflanzen beschäftigen.

I. Reine Blendlinge.

1. Gustav Fintelmann (Hofgärtner auf der Pfaueninsel bei Potsdam). Hat die dunkelste Farbe und unterscheidet sich von der Mutterpflanze nur wenig. Die Staubfäden besitzen jedoch eine braune Farbe.
2. Dr. Klotzsch (Kustos des Königlichen Herbariums). Die Farbe der Blumenblätter ist ein helles Purpur, die Staubfäden sind aber rothbraun.
3. Dr. Caspary (früher Privatdozent in Berlin, jetzt in Bonn). Die Farbe der Blumenblätter erscheint etwas
dunkler, als bei dem vorigen Blendlinge, die der Staubfäden ist aber ebenfalls rothbraun.
4. Professor Dr. K. Koch (Adjunkt des Direktor am botanischen Garten). Die Blume steht in der Färbung zwischen Nr. 1 und 3, gleicht aber der ersteren doch mehr und besitzt deshalb auch braune Staubfäden.
5. Nymphaea Boucheana. Sie besitzt ein sehr zartes Rosa, zumal die innersten Blumenblätter ganz weiss sind, aber gelbe Staubfäden. Der Blendling ist bereits auf der 1033. Tafel und im 10. Bande der Flore des Serres abgebildet.
6. Theodor Jannoch (Garten-Gehilfe im botanischen Garten, unter dem die Wasserpflanzen speciell gestellt sind). Eine prächtige und grosse Blume von Rosafarbe. die der von van Houtte in Flore des Serres (im VIII. Bande auf der 775. Tafel) abgebildeten N. Ortgiesiana rubra, die wiederum von N. Devoniensis nicht verschieden ist, etwas gleicht.
7. Adele. Die Blume besitzt eine reine Purpurfarbe aber orangenfarbige Staubgefässe.

II. Doppelt-Blendlinge.

8. Königin Elisabeth. Sehr grosse und schöne Blüthen mit rosafarbigen Blumenblättern und gelben Staubfäden.
9. Generaldirektor Lenné (der Königl. Gärten in Sanssouci), ähnelt Nr. 5 und besitzt ebenfalls ein ausserordentlich zartes Rosa, was in der Mitte fast in ein reines Weiss übergeht. Die Staubfäden sind wiederum gelb.
10. Professor Dr. Braun (Direktor des botanisclien Gartens). Die Blüthe zeichnet sich durch ihre sehr breiten Blumenblätter aus, die eine blassrothe Farbe haben, aber in der Mitte einen weissen Streifen besitzen. Die Staubfaden sind gelb.
11. Van Houtte (Chef und Eigenthümer der grossen Gartnerei in Gent). Die Blüthe ist rosa, hat aber einen bläulichen Anflug. Die Staubfäden besitzen jedoch eine braune Farbe.
12. Geheimer Kommerzienrath Borsig (Gründer der grössten Eisenwerke in Deutschland zu Berlin). Die Blumenblätter haben eine helle Rosafarbe.
13. Th. Nietner (Hofgärtner in Schönhausen bei Be rlin). Purpur ist die Farbe der Blumenblätter, aber mit einem bläulichen Anfluge. Die Staubfäden sind orangenfarbig.
14. Wendland (Hofgarten-Inspektor in Herrenhausen bei Hannover). Ächnelt im Allgemeinen Nr. 6, die Farbe ist aber doch mehr ein helles Purpur. Die Staubfäden sind ockerfarbig.
15. L. Mathieu (Kunst- und Handelsgärtner in Berlin). Die Blumenblätter sind rosafarbig, haben aber einen bräunlichen Anflug; die Staubgefässe besitzen eine Orangenfarbe.
16. Friedericke. Dem vorigen Blendlinge ähnlich. aber etwas dunkeler in der Farbe. Die Staubfäden sind ockerfarbig.

The Bouché Nymphaea Hybrids
English translation
by Werner Wallner

 Water Gardening's History Index

 Index to Historical Articles 

 Antique Illustrations Index

 Biographies Index

The History of Hybrid Waterlilies

Waterlilies | Lotus | Aquatic Plants | Victoria | Our Adventure With Victoria
Water Gardening | Water Gardening Friends | New This Month
Kit & Ben Knotts | Our Garden | Search The Site | Home 
Email Discussion List | Site Map